My husband brought home a ton of milk the other night so after straining it all through a towel into various mason jars I decided to try my hand at making cheese the next day. 

We made our cheese with raw milk from our cow and some from one of our goats. 

What you need: 

1 gallon of milk 

2 large lemons 

Dish towel 

Cotton yarn 

A pinch of non-iodized salt. (I used sea salt) 

The first thing I did was find something that held a gallon of milk and I poured all the milk into it until I had a gallon. 


My almost-three-year old was a very willing helper. 


Here is the gallon jug full of milk. 

I poured the milk into a large pot to boil and added a pinch of salt. 


Next we cut up our lemons and squeezed their juice into a bowl. 

Make sure to occasionally stir your milk and once the little bubbles start to form around the outside, turn off the heat and add the lemon juice. 


Once the lemon juice has been added, the milk will begin to curdle. Gently stir in the lemon juice and let it sit for 15 minutes. 


Set a stainless steel bowl under a knob on one of your kitchen cupboards and set your colander on top. Put your dish towel over the colander and start to ladle the cheese curds and whey into the towel. 


Once most of the whey has drained through the colander, tie the dish towel to the cupboard knob and leave the bowl underneath it to drain for another hour or two. 


Once mine had stopped dropping I squeezed out as much whey as I could while it was still tied there and let it sit for another 1/2 hour. 

I squeezed it out again and then opened up the towel on my counter. After picking off a few bits of cheese stuck to the towel and rolling it all into a ball, I had cheese! 

Store your cheese in the fridge. You can make all sorts of combinations of herbs and jams with your cheese to make a delicious spread for a party. I’m looking forward to trying a bunch of different ideas. 

Have you ever made cheese? Share a photo or tell me what extras you added to your cheese. 

