Well, it’s almost that time of year again; the time of year where the farmers with hard sugar maples start getting ready to tap their trees. Every year my husband and I and the kids go to his grandparent’s farm (only 30 seconds down the road from us) and we spend the month of March tapping trees, collecting sap in buckets and lugging them back to the sugar shack on the four wheelers. We can usually take off 1-2 batches a day depending on how many people are there to help.

My grandfather-in-law plies everyone with a concoction of maple wine and hot boiled syrup every few minutes and my grandmother-in-law is always busy cooking up pancakes and sausages on the propane stove for everyone to eat. Basically, the only thing we eat in March is sausage or bacon with a side of pancakes and doused in maple syrup. (The experts say that maple syrup actually has more antioxidants than blueberries so I’m not too worried about a rounded diet for the kids for that month and I’ve got to say, we’ve never been sick in March).

This afternoon my husband and my two-and-a-half year-old took off with great-grandpa to the mennonite store that sells maple syrup supplies. We need a new filter and some extra buckets for this Saturday because the sap is coming early this year! Check out some of our photos from previous years and keep your eyes out for the ones yet to come!

